Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Amar Satpathy appointed pro-tem Speaker

29/05/2019 at 6:58 PM

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJD leader and Badchana MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy was appointed as the pro-tem Speaker in the new Assembly.

Satpathy is the senior most member of the Assembly. The pro-tem Speaker performs the duties of the office of the Speaker from the commencement of the sitting of the Assembly till the election of the Speaker.

Naveen Patnaik’s BJD registered victory in 112 Assembly seats while BJP witnessed victory in 24 and Congress in eight seats.

Today, Patnaik took oath as the Chief Minister for the fifth consecutive term along with 11 Cabinet and nine MoS.

The State has altogether 147 Assembly seats. Polls to the Patkura constituency were countermanded after the death of BJD candidate. Patnaik has been the CM of Odisha since 2000.


   Related Posts