Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Amar, Sasmit file nomination papers for Rajya Sabha by-polls

24/06/2019 at 1:44 PM

Bhubaneswar: Amar Patnaik and Sasmit Patra today filed their nomination papers for Rajya Sabha by-elections slated to be held on July 5.

The two BJD leaders filed nominations in the presence of party president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh before the Returning Officer at the State Assembly.

BJP candidate Aswini Vashinav will also file his nomination papers today for the by-polls.

The by-polls were necessitated following the election of party leaders – Achyuta Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik – to Lok Sabha and Assembly recently.

While Samanta was elected to the Lok Sabha from Kandhamal, both Deb and Patnaik resigned from Rajya Sabha after they were elected to the State Assembly from the Aul and Khandapada.

Samanta and Patnaik’s term in the Upper House was set to end in April 2024 while the tenure of Deb was up to July, 2022.

The BJD would comfortably retain all the three Rajya Sabha seats. BJD has 111 MLAs in the 147-member Assembly.


   Related Posts