Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

AICC announces new ‘Manifesto Committee’ of Odisha Congress

6/12/2018 at 2:50 PM


Bhubaneswar: Senior Congress leader Ganeswar Behera replaced former Union Minister Srikant Jena as chairperson of the Congress manifesto committee for ensuing assembly poll in Odisha.

Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Narasingha Mishra, former Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee president Prasad Harichandan, Shyam Sundar Hansdah, Natabar Khuntia, Liaquat Ali and Satya Prakash Nayak and Bismaya Mohapatra, Sudarshan Das, Mary Surin have been appointed as members of the committee.

In April, Srikant Jena’s letter to the All-India Congress Committee (AICC) has created ripples in the party.

“The Congress, if voted to power, will select chief minister and two deputy chief ministers from among OBC/ SEBC (54%), SC (16%) and ST (22.5%) communities. This will enable equitable representation for all section of the society since these communities are collectively 92 per cent of the Odisha’s population and ensure the rule of Bahujan,” Jena had written.

   Related Posts