Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

3 BJP MLAs suspended for attempting to attack Speaker in Odisha Assembly

3/04/2021 at 5:40 PM

Bhubaneswar, April 3: Three BLP MLAs have been suspended till the end of the current session for attempting to attack Speaker Dr Surjya Narayan Patro.

Deputy Leader of BJP Legislative Party Bishnu Charan Sethi, Opposition Chief Whip Mohan Charan Majhi and Sambalpur MLA Jayanarayan Mishra have been debarred from attending the House till revocation of the suspension order, the Speaker ruled.

After reviewing the photos of the incident Government Chief Whip Pramila Mallick moved a motion for suspension of the three members.

Protesting the Speaker’s ruling, the BJP MLAs staged a protest near Mahatma Gandhi statue in the Assembly premises.

Commenting on the issue, Congress Legislature Party Leader Narasingha Mishra condemned the incident and criticised the ruling party for passage of the Lokyayukta Amendment Bill without discussion in the House.

Notably, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs today allegedly hurled slippers at Speaker in the House, opposing the Lokyayukta Amendment Bill. Besides, Opposition Chief whip Mohan Charan Majhi threw earphones and papers at Speaker’s podium.

Later in the day, BJP MLAs have decided to stage ‘overnight dharna’ near the Mahatma Gandhi statue in Assembly premises opposing action against suspension of three MLAs by the speaker.

   Related Posts