Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

BJP by-poll: 3 candidates to file nominations today

30/09/2019 at 9:08 AM

BJP by-poll: 3 candidates to file nominations today

Bhubaneswar: Candidates of the three major political parties, BJD, Congress and BJP, will file nominations for the Bijepur Assembly seat which would go to a by-poll on October 21.

While Rita Sahu will file nominations as a BJD candidate, Dillip Kumar Panda will submit papers with a Congress ticket and Sanat Kumar Gartia with a BJP ticket.

While BJD has relied on Rita, who had won the seat in 2018 by-poll, the BJP has announced to field Sanat, who had emerged second in the last election held in April this year. The Congress again changed its candidate by deciding to field Dillip as the earlier two candidates, Pranay Sahu in 2018 by-elections and Ripunath Seth in April 2019 election, emerged distant thirds by polling very less numbers of votes.

According to political analysts, Gartia had emerged second by grabbing 53,482 votes against winner Naveen’s 1,10,604 votes in the last election. Congress’ Ripunath had emerged third with 14,344 votes.

As many as 2,32,005 voters comprising 1,19,916 males, 1,12,074 females and 15 thirdgenders are eligible to exercise franchise during the upcoming bypoll, according to reports.

   Related Posts