Odisha : 13 districts go unrepresented in new ministry

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | June 13, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, June 13: The newly formed BJP government in Odisha, led by Chief Minister Mohan Majhi, faces a stark regional disparity with 13 districts going unrepresented in the council of ministers.

 These districts include Cuttack, Balasore, Kendrapara, Angul, Bargarh, Subarnapur, Deogarh, Kalahandi, Boudh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Sundargarh, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Rayagada, Malkangiri, and Koraput. While the BJP has secured ministerial berths for Balangir, Mayurbhanj, and Ganjam districts, it has failed to open its account in Rayagada, Gajapati, Deogarh, and Nuapada districts.

In spite of party’s landslide victory, the absence of ministerial representation from more than half of Odisha’s districts has raised concern among party circle. 

Notably, districts like Bargarh and Angul, where the BJP won four and three out of five Assembly constituencies, respectively, remain unrepresented in the ministry. Similarly, the party secured four out of eight seats in Balasore and both seats in Boudh.

Mayurbhanj and Ganjam districts have the highest representation, with the BJP winning all nine seats in Mayurbhanj and 11 out of 13 seats in Ganjam. 

In Balangir, the party captured four out of five segments. 

The BJP leaders assure that efforts will be made to address the issue of under-representation during future expansions, with at least six more ministers likely to be inducted. 

The ministry currently accommodates 16 ministers, including the Chief Minister, It can have maximum of 22 ministers, as per the norm.

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News
Rath Yatra

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.