Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Tata Steel wins Beach Soccer 2021 title

24/02/2021 at 8:15 AM

Konark, Feb 24: Tata Steel have won the Beach Soccer 2021 by beating Paradeep Port Trust 2-1 in the penalty shootout in the final at Chandrabhaga Sea Beach, Konark. Sunando Sen (Team Nalco) was adjudged the Player of the Tournament. 

Minister, Department of Industries, MSME, Home and Energy, Governement of Odisha Capt. Dibya Shankar Mishra graced the closing ceremony and presented the champions title.

This was the first of its kind beach soccer festival in Odisha organised by Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) in association with Department of Tourism, Government of Odisha. Odisha Football Club (OFC) was the Technical Partner of the event with an aim to integrate football and the mesmerizing coastline of the State.

“We are delighted to see the huge response that the first edition of Beach Soccer has received. It’s the team spirit of the players that made this initiative a grand success,” said Mr. Rajiv Kumar, Chairman, CII Beach Soccer and Immediate Past Chairman, Odisha State Council.

Explaining more about the event, Grassroots Manager of Odisha FC Mr. Suvam Das said, “It was really an amazing experience to be a part of the Beach Soccer 2021. We, at Odisha FC, have a plan to take the sport to every corner of Odisha and this is a good step in that direction. We thank CII and Odisha Tourism for all the support and would definitely want to play an important role in all such football-related events in Odisha in the future. I want to thank our fans The Juggernauts as well for their hard work throughout the tournament and each and everyone involved.”

The festival was inaugurated on Monday in the presence of eminent footballers Sradhanjali Samantaray and Ranjita Mohanty along with Mr. Saikat Roy Chowdhury (Regional Director – East and North East, CII), Mr. Binaya Dash (Additional District Magistrate, Puri), CII Odisha state council members and members of Odisha FC. 

A total of 10 teams – Odisha Tourism, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd, CSM, Nalco, Tata Steel, Paradeep Phosphates Limited, Paradeep Port Trust, Odisha Power Transmission Corporation, Jindal Steel and Power (JSPL) and Gupta Power – participated in the festival.

   Related Posts