Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

SOA hosts first ODICON-2021 with international participation

9/01/2021 at 5:39 PM

Bhubaneswar, Jan 9: : Topics like renewable energy and artificial intelligence were discussed at the two-day first Odisha International Conference on Electrical Power Engineering, Communication and Computing Technology (ODICON-2021) which was hosted by Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA).

The virtual conference, which concluded on Saturday, was organised by the Department of Electrical Engineering of the Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER), SOA’s faculty of engineering and technology.

The objective of the conference was to bring together researchers, scientists, engineers and scholar students on the same platform for sharing and exchanging their experiences, discuss new ideas and research results about all aspects of engineering, science and technology especially relevant to sustainable and clean energy, Prof. Renu Sharma, Head of the department of Electrical Engineering, ITER and General Chair, ODICON-2021, said.

The inaugural session had Prof. Sushmita Mitra from Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata as chief guest while Prof. Celia Shahnaz, Chair, IEEE, Bangladesh Section was the special guest. Prof. A.K.Mahapatra, Vice-Chancellor, SOA, Prof. A.K.Tripathy, Chair, IEEE, Bhubaneswar and Prof. S.R.Samantaray of IIT, Bhubaneswar and Secretary, IEEE, Bhubaneswar Sub-section were the speakers.

Prof. Shaikh Fattah from BUET, Bangladesh was the chief guest at the closing session while Prof. Sivaji Chakravorti of Jadavpur University and Dr. Naeem Hannon of University Technology Mara, Malaysia, were the guests of honour. Prof. (Dr.) Damodar Acharya, Chairman of SOA’s Advisory Board and former Chairman, AICTE and former Director, IIT, Kharagpur, Prof. P.K.Sahu, Dean, ITER, Prof. P.K.Nanda, Dean (Research and Development), SOA and Dr. Manoj Kumar Debnath, Organising Chair, ODICON-2021 also addressed the conference.

The keynote speakers at the conference included Dr. Akshay Kumar Rathore from Concordia University, Montreal, Prof. Bijay Ketan Panigrahi from IIT, Delhi, Prof. Ganapati Panda from IIT, Bhubaneswar and Dr. Swagatam Das from ISI, Kolkata.

   Related Posts