Odisha: Campaign ends in four LS seats in south Odisha this evening

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 11, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May 11: The high decibel campaign in four LS constituencies and twenty eight assembly segment of south Odisha has come to an end this evening.

 The voting for four Lok Sabha constituencies -Berhampur, Koraput , Nabarangpur and Kalahandi- is scheduled for May 13 as part of Phase 4 of the General Elections 2024.

Berhampur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the prominent seats of eastern coast of Odisha and plays a significant role in the state’s political landscape. 

The major parties contesting in Berhampur include the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), and the Biju Janata Dal (BJD).

BJP has fielded Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy as its candidate in this seat. Prominent leaders of BJP like Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Bhupender Yadav, and Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma have campaigned in favour.of BJP candidate Panigrahi.

On the other hand, the ruing BJD has nominated Bhrugu Baxipatra. BJD President and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, 5T Chairman VK Pandian, and popular actors Sabyasachi and Archita have campaigned extensively for him.

The Congress has nominated Rashmi Ranjan Patnaik as its candidate .No such prominent leaders have campaigned for him. However, Congress candidate has actively used social media for campaigning.

The Berhampur parliamentary constituency comprises seven assembly segments: Digapahandi, Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Chikiti, and Brahmapur assembly seat in Ganjam district, and Mohana and Paralakhemundi assembly segment in Gajapati district.

 A total of eleven candidates are contesting in the Berhampur parliamentary seat, while 75 candidates are contesting in the seven assembly segments that come under the Berhampur Lok Sabha.

 The contest is generally occurring between BJD and BJP candidates in the Berhampur Lok Sabha seat, with a triangular fight observed in Paralakhemundi and Mohana assembly segments



  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.