ODI WC: Gill, Kohli miss tons; but India firm vs Sri Lanka

Prameyanews English

Last Updated Prameya News Bureau - November 02, 2023

Mumbai, Nov 2: In the familiar battle of neighbours, put into bat, India were 320/5 in 47 overs against Sri Lanka in the 33rd match of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 at Wankhede Stadium, here on Thursday.

Lankan right arm pacer Dilshan Madushanka continued his habit of picking wickets in the first power-play, as he removed Indian skipper Rohit Sharma for 4 in the second ball of the match.

Sharma despatched the first ball he faced to fine leg for a boundary. But was bowled the very next ball, as he misjudged an out-swinger to be an incoming one. 

It was then up to Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli to take charge of the proceedings in the 22 yards. Both of them hit 50s and accelerated scoring rate. But they both missed tons and departed in quick succession after sharing a 189-run partnership for the 2nd wicket. Gill was caught by Pathum Nissanka of Madushanka, after making run-a-ball 92.

ODI WC: Sri Lanka pay tribute to fan Abeysekera, wear black bands

Madushanka struck for the third time and got Kohli too, who scored 88 in 94 balls. Kohli missed century for the second time in the tournament, caught by keeper Kusal Mendis.

KL Rahul was the next to depart after scoring 19-ball 21, with two hits to the fence. Trying a big shot against a good length delivery of Dushmantha Chameera, he holed up a catch to Dushan Hemantha at extra cover. India were 256/4 in 39.2 overs.

Madushanka returned to attack to claim his 4th victim of the match, as he got dangerous Surya Kumar Yadav caught behind the stumps by his skipper Mendis. Surya contributed just 12 in 9 balls, with two 4s.

But it was Shreyas Iyer, who was tipped to be put on notice by the team management to score big, did not dishearten at his familiar ground. He scored a convincing 50 and tried to rescue his team from a mini collapse.

ODI WC: Sri Lanka win toss, ask India to bat first.

Iyer also hit a massive 106-metre six, the tournament's biggest so far, when he lifted Kasun Rajitha over long on.

Unbeaten in the tournament so far, hosts India fielded the same XI, which won against England on October 29 in Lucknow.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka made one change in the team that lost to Afghanistan in Pune. They roped in Dushan Hemantha in place of Dhananjaya de Silva. 

Sri Lanka XI:

Kusal  Mendis (Captain and wicket-keeper), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera and  Dilshan Madushanka. 

India XI:

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper)), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Siraj.


  • Cricket World Cup 2023
  • ODI WorldCup 2023
  • ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2022 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.