Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Four children from Odisha to receive National Bravery Awards

18/01/2019 at 2:39 PM

Bhubaneswar: At least four children from the State have been selected to receive the National Bravery Awards-2018.

Jhili Bagh, Ranjita Majhi, Biswajit Puhan and Situ Mallick will to receive ICCW National Bravery Awards-2018 from Presdient Ram Nath Kovind.

They are among 21 brave children, including eight girls nominated for the award.

Notably, the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) has been presenting the National Bravery Awards to children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and inspire other children to set the example.

It was in 1957 that two children – a boy and a girl – were first rewarded for their presence of mind and courage. Since then ICCW decided to confer national awards on children every year.

In 1987-88 ICCW instituted the Bharat Award for an exceptionally outstanding, meritorious and gallant deed. The other special awards include the Geeta Chopra and Sanjay Chopra awards (instituted by ICCW in 1978) and the Bapu Gaidhani Awards (instituted in 1988-89).

Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, ICCW has given awards to 963 brave children – 680 boys and 283 girls.

   Related Posts