Two polling officials axed in Deogarh

26/04/2019 at 1:04 PM

Deogarh: Deogarh Collector-cum-District Election Officer today suspended a sector officer and presiding officer for negligence.

The Collector put Sector Officer T Gopalkrishana Saraf and Presiding Officer Himashu Sekhar Behera under suspension for dereliction of duty in connection with the miparing of VVPAT and EVM machine at booth number 183.

Polling was cancelled at this booth on April 23, after fault was noticed by voters when their votes for Assembly candidate went to Lok Sabha.

Based on inquiry report following allegations, the Collector placed the two officials under suspension.

Notably, Deogarh Assembly segment under Sambalpur parliamentary constituency went to polls on April 23.

Notably, Chief Electoral Officer Sunrednra Kumar hinted at stern legal action against the officials concerned for the ‘human error’.


   Related Posts