State witnesses 61% voter polling in 3rd phase till 5pm

23/04/2019 at 6:24 PM

Bhubaneswar: Odisha recorded 61 per cent voter turnout till 5 pm in the third phase of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, said Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar her today.

The polling was held in 10,464 polling stations in six Parliamentary constituencies and 42 Assembly segments which had a voter population of 92,56,322 in the third phase.

Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Sambalpur, Keonjhar and Dhenkanal, parliamentary constituencies and 42 Assembly segments under them went to polls today.

While the first phase of polling on April 11, held for four Lok Sabha seats and 28 Assembly segments, recorded 73.76 per cent voting, the second phase balloting, conducted for five Lok Sabha and Assembly segments recorded 72.56 per cent turnout.

The CEO informed that he had adjourned voting in two polling booths in Badamba in Cuttack district and Deogarh due to mis-pairing of EVM and VVPAT machines.

Recommendations were sent to the Election Commission of India for re-polling, added the CEO.

   Related Posts