Ranendra Pratap likely to be pro-tem Speaker

25/05/2019 at 2:26 PM

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJD leader Ranendra Pratap Swain is likely to be appointed as the as the pro-tem Speaker in the new Assembly.

Swain is the senior most member of the Assembly. The pro-tem Speaker performs the duties of the office of the Speaker from the commencement of the sitting of the Assembly till the election of the Speaker.

Swain has been representing the Athgarh Assembly constituency for seven consecutive terms.

Patnaik’s BJD registered victory in 112 Assembly seats while BJP witnessed victory in 24 and Congress in eight seats. The State has altogether 147 Assembly seats. Polls to the Patkura constituency were countermanded after the death of BJD candidate. Patnaik has been the CM of Odisha since 2000.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has overtaken Congress as the main opposition party, is ahead on 24 seats. Congress is leading in 13 seats. CM Patnaik is leading in Hinjili and also in Bijepur by a huge margin.

   Related Posts