Phase-II polls: 53 % polling registered till 3 pm in Odisha

18/04/2019 at 4:39 PM

Bhubaneswar: Odisha registered 53 per cent voter turnout till 3 pm in second phase polls, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar here.

In the second phase, balloting is being held simultaneously in five Lok Sabha constituencies – namely, Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska and 35 corresponding Assembly constituencies – Padmapur, Bijepur, Bargarh, Attabira, Bhatli, Brajarajnagar, Jharsuguda, Talsara, Sundargarh, Biramitrapur, Raghunathpalli, Rourkela, Rajgangpur, Bonai, Birmaharajpur, Sonepur, Loisingha, Patnagarh, Bolangir, Titlagarh, Kantabanjhi, Baliguda, G Udyagiri, Phulbani, Kantamal, Boudh, Daspalla, Bhanjanagar, Polasara, Kabisuryanagar, Khalikote, Aska, Surada, Sanakhemundi and Hinjili.

Initially, the voting was delayed at some polling stations due to technical glitches in the EVMs. Later the problems were resolved.

There are 76.93 lakh registered voters in this phase. Polling is being held at 9,117 booths. The voting process which started at 7 am will continue till 6 pm.

A total of 35 candidates are in the fray for the five Lok Sabha seats while 244 candidates, are contesting for the 35 Assembly seats.

   Related Posts