Patkura election: 67% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm

20/07/2019 at 6:04 PM

Bhubaneswar/Patkura: Around 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm in the Patkura Assembly election today, informed State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar.

The voting time though ended at 6 pm, but voters were still standing in the queues, waiting for their turn at several polling booths. The voting percentage is, therefore, likely to rise, said sources.

Voting started at 7 am in 309 polling booths.

There are a total of 2,44,747 registered voters, including 1,17,306 women, in the politically-important Patkuar Assembly seat under the Kendrapara Parliamentary constituency.

Counting of votes would be done on July 24. While there are 10 candidates in the fray, it is likely to be a straight fight between the ruling BJD candidate Sabitri Agrawalla and the opposition BJP candidate Bijoy Mohapatra.

Sabitri is the wife of former Patkura MLA late Bed Prakash Agarwal, whose death countermanded the election.

The election to the Assembly segment had to be postponed twice due to the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash and later in the aftermath of cyclone Fani.

   Related Posts