Nomination filing for 4th phase polls ends today

9/04/2019 at 11:39 AM

Bhubaneswar: Today is the last day of filing of nominations for the fourth and last phase poll scheduled on April 29 in Odisha. Voting will be held for six Lok Sabha constituencies and 42 Assembly seats in this phase.

According to reports, actor and politician Anubhab Mohanty will file nomination papers as a BJD candidate for the Kendrapara Lok Sabha constituency today. Similarly, Finance Minister Shashi Bhushan Behera will file papers as a BJD candidate for the Kendrapara Assembly seat. His name was announced for the seat at the eleventh hour by BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik on Monday night. Shashi Bhushan’s father-in-law’s house is in Kendrapara.

The two leaders will come in a huge rally and present papers in the Sub-Collector’s office. Besides, BJD dissident leader Kishore Tarai, a sitting MLA of the ruling party, and BJP rebel leader Urmila Sethi are expected to file nominations for the seat.

Congress candidate for Aul-Rajkanika Assembly seat Debendra Sharma, who is a sitting MLA, will also file papers today. In view of all these, it is expected that Kendrapara town will witness heavy rush of crowds on the day.

Similarly, BJD Jagatsinghpur Assembly candidate Prasant Muduli will file his nominations today. Though the candidature of Muduli, who is a sitting MLA from the Balikuda-Erasama Assembly seat, was opposed initially, his rebels have been pacified with their leader Amarendra Das being inducted as the BJD district president of Jatagsingpur.

The six LS seats going to polls in the last phase are Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Balasore, Mayurbhanj and Bhadrak.

   Related Posts