Nabarangpur MP Balabhadra Majhi resigns from BJD

14/03/2019 at 2:28 PM

Bhubaneswar: In a major jolt to BJD, Nabarangpur MP Balabhadra Majhi today resigned from the Biju Janata Dal amid the speculation that the ruling BJD is likely to deny tickets to all the four sitting MPs and more than a dozen MLAs for the first phase elections.

Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput Lok Sabha constituencies including the 28 Assembly segments coming under the five LS constituencies will go to polls in the first phase on April 11.

Source said Majhi visited party president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at Naveen Niwas today and tendered his resignation.

A woman candidate is likely to be fielded from Nabarangpur seat, sources said. However, it was not known to which party Majhi will go.

Now, speculation is rife that Majhi may join BJP.

   Related Posts