CEO gears up for counting day

21/05/2019 at 3:51 PM

Bhubaneswar: Counting of votes for Assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies will begin from 8 am on May 23. First, votes cast through postal ballots will be counted and from 8.30 am counting of votes sealed in the EVMs will commence, informed State Chief Electoral Officer (CEo) Surendra Kumar here.

An average of 30 rounds of counting will take place in each of the 146 Assembly constituencies, said Kumar.

“On Election Commission’s permission, an additional 411 counting tables have been allotted to the State to speed up counting process. Odisha will see an average of 30 rounds of count per constituency. Patnagarh will maximum 49 rounds of counting while Sambalpur will record minimum 19 rounds of counting,” said Kumar.

Odisha voted for 21 Lok Sabha and 146 Assembly elections simultaneously in four phases on April 11, 28, 23 and 29. Counting of votes in the State will clock a longer duration than its national counterparts because of simultaneous counting for State Assembly elections along with Lok Sabha.

With addition of additional 411 tables, counting of votes will be conducted in a total of 2462 tables.

“For each counting center, a Counting Supervisor, a Counting Assistant and a Micro Observer will be appointed to ensure free and fair counting,” informed the CEO.

   Related Posts