BJD interospects why it lost 9 LS seats

27/05/2019 at 12:49 PM

Bhubaneswar: The BJD has started searching reasons as to why 9 of its MP candidates lost elections when MLA candidates did well under their Parliamentary constituencies.

A meeting in this regard is going on in party supremo Naveen Patnaik’s residence Naveen Nivas here. Leaders who were in charge of elections are being called and asked to give reasons.

Notably, the BJD has won a total of 112 Assmbly seats and 12 Lok Sabha seats. While each Lok Sabha seat has seven Assembly segments, the BJD should have won 16 MP seats against 112 Assembly seats.

“The party did not get expected results in Lok Sabha elections. Interospection is

needed to find out reasons,” said former MLA Ayub Khan.

According to sources, leaders from Bolangir, Kalahandi and Koraput met BJD chief Naveen Patnaik and reasoned out defeats of party candidates of their respective constituencies.

“Interospection must be done to find out who are responsible for defeat of nine MP candidates,” said Kishore Mohanty, who has won the Brajarajnagar Assembly seat.

Sunita Biswal, who unsuccessfully fought polls from the Sundargarh LS seat, said she would meet  the party chief and inform him reasons of her defeat.

   Related Posts