All Govt offices in five Fani-hit districts to remain functional on May 11, 12

10/05/2019 at 5:52 PM

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today directed all Government offices in Cyclone Fani-hit districts of Cuttack, Khurda, Puri, Jagatsinghpur and Kendrapara to remain functional on May 11 and 12 (Second Saturday and Sunday) to facilitate relief and restoration works.

At least 1.5 crore people were affected and 5,08,467 houses were damaged in the State in the cyclone. At least 41 human casualties were reported due to the cyclone with Puri recording the highest death toll of 21.

With nearly 200 kmph wind storms and incessant rains bringing down trees, power and communications lines and thatched houses, cyclone Fani barrelled through the eastern coast in Odisha’s Puri district on May 3 leaving at least 41 people dead in different coastal district and also paralysing normal life in capital city Bhubaneswar and its neighbouring Cuttack city.



   Related Posts