Ahead of Bijepur bypoll Ex-MLA Ashok Panigrahi quits BJP

12/10/2019 at 4:09 PM

Bargarh: Ahead of the Bijepur Assembly bye-elections, senior leader and former MLA Ashok Panigrahi resigned from the BJP citing negligence.

He was party’s candidate in the 2018 Bijepur by-election. He had lost the bypoll to BJD’s Rita Sahu.

Notably, after the saffron party named Sanat Kumar Gartia as its candidate for the bypoll to the Bijepur Assembly seat in Bargarh district, Panigrahi had accused the saffron party of ignoring him and alleged that the party had not taken him into confidence.

Gartia had lost to BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in the bypoll to the seat this year.

Bijepur bypoll was necessitated after Patnaik resigned from the seat and retained the Hinjili Assembly segment in Ganjam district, from where he has been winning since 2000.

   Related Posts