5,408 people in Balasore, Tirtol opt to vote through postal ballot

17/10/2020 at 11:01 AM

Bhubaneswar, Oct 17: In view of Covid-19 pandemic situation and having the mission of No voters to be left behind, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has extended the Postal Ballot facility for the otherwise vulnerable group of voters in the three categories such as those above 80 years, PwD voters and the Covid-19 affected or suspected.

According to a survey conducted by the ECI, in Tirtol Assembly Constituency, out of 15,253 such voters 3,681 voters opted for postal ballot while 9677 refused, 1496 were not available despite contacting them twice.

Similarly, in Balasore Sadar Assembly Constituency, out of 8,275 voters belonging to the three categories 1,727 voters opted for postal ballot while 902 were not available despite contacting them twice and 3503 refused postal ballot and decided to vote at the booth on poll day.

In the COVID-19 suspected or affected category out of 340 voters in Tirtol AC, 130 opted for postal ballot and out of 101 such voters in Balasore Sadar only 7 opted while the rest preferred to vote physically in the polling stations, as they will come around by the time of poll.

Earlier, Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Sushil Kumar Lohani had instructed the District Election Officers of Balasore and Jagatsinghpur and the Returning Officers to conduct door to door survey to sensitise them about these provisions and collect the application forms.

As per the instructions of Commission the application in Form-12 D for giving consent for voting through Postal Ballot was sent to these voters through the BLOs from October 10 to 14.

   Related Posts