4th phase poll tomorrow; 95.653 lakh voters to cast vote for 52 LS, 336 Assembly candidates

28/04/2019 at 7:25 PM

Bhubaneswar: As many as 388 candidates are in the fray for six Lok Sabha constituencies and 41 Assembly seats, which will go to poll in the fourth phase tomorrow.

At a press meet, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar informed that 52 candidates are contesting for Lok Sabha while 336 are contesting for Assembly seats. A total 95.653 lakh voters will determine the fate of the candidates tomorrow. Over 45 lakh women voters will exercise their franchise while 1.86 lakh are divyang voters, the CEO added.

As many as 3092 polling stations are sensitive, the CEO added. As many as 10,792 polling stations have been set up at 9070 locations. A total 72,363 polling officials have been engaged to conduct the polls. Only women officials will work at 105 booths, CEO said.

In the fourth phase election, heavyweights like Baijayant Panda, Anubhav Mohanty, Pratap Sarangi,Rabindra Jena, Bibhu Tarai are in the fray.

Out 52 candidates, 12 women are contesting for Lok Sabha seat while 34 women are fight for Assembly poll. One third gender is also in the fray.

Webcasting arranegments has been made at 1126 polling booths.

In a first, divyang officials will conduct polling at four booths.

As many as 554 polling stations will remain under CCTV surveillance. Micro observers will work at 595 booths. As many as 21,428 volunteers have been pressed into service to co-ordinate with polling officials and voters, he added.

Kendrapara parliamentary constituency has been considered as a hot seat. Adequate forces have been arranged for Kendrapara to check malpractice and any illicit activities, Surendra Kumar added.

Outsiders will have to leave the constituency by 6 pm today. Action would be taken against them if any outsiders are found, the CEO confirmed.

   Related Posts