15th Finance Commission allocates Rs 2,139 crore to Odisha for disaster management

4/02/2020 at 12:54 PM

Bhubaneswar, Feb 4: The Fifteenth Finance Commission (FFC) has allocated Rs 2,139 crore to the State Disaster Risk Management Fund (SDRMF) for the fiscal year 2020-21.

The allocation is 135 percent higher than 14th Finance Commission’s grant Rs 909 crore.

The Union government will contribute Rs 1,604 crore to the SDRMF while Odisha government’s contribution will be Rs 535 crore.

The vulnerability of the state to disasters has also been rated highest scoring 60 points out of 70 points in the Disaster Risk Index (DRI) prepared by the FFC.

The state has scored the maximum value of 15 points each in flood, drought and cyclone. However, the state figured in the least risk prone category only in earthquake.

Similarly, the index showed the state is less vulnerable to lightning.

The Commission has disbursed the whopping amount of fund to Odisha considering its geographical area, population and disaster data.

   Related Posts